A new purpose in life

I once knew a girl whose life goal was to play the accordion. I hope Marguerite achieved that. I may change my own musical aspiration from wanting to grow up to be Michael Lachowski to wanting to play the accordion. Mexican polka, klezmer, European polkas, cowboy tunes, Brave combo, more polkas  .  .  . What could be more satisfying than being able to play that one-(wo)man instrument?

I’ll tell you what: playing it in an Irish slampunk band with a banjo and tin whistle. Transcendent. Iridescent! as Shane McGowan called Spider Stacey’s whistle tonight at the Pogues show at the Tabernacle.  (I believe the direct quote was “all iridescent-like.” Or was it “incandescent”?) Anyway, that combination and their poetry is truly some of my favorite music on the planet.

Thanks to Kyle for this link to great AJC.com photos.  Here’s someone else’s video from the show: 

Steamy hot, like August in a Baptist church, except with a bunch of white 40-year-olds reliving their drunk past. It was like a big, bouncy Irish sing-along. There was a bit of rowdiness for old-times sake, from the crowd (some guy bounced up on the stage and dived back into the crowd) and from the stage (tossing of mic stands and banging of heads). Really my only complaint was that it was so packed I couldn’t get far enough down into the crowd and there wasn’t quite enough room to dance. You need a lot of room to dance to the Pogues.

They were clearly enjoying making this fabulous music again, especially Stacey.  It wasn’t a particularly long show. McGowan is alive, apparently with new teeth, but he moves like a 75-year old man, whether because of his current state of wastedness or the wear and tear of all those years of it. Still, there was nothing they didn’t play that I missed terribly. Second encore was Fiesta! baby. All (and more than) I could hope for.

2 Comments

Filed under Tunes

2 responses to “A new purpose in life

  1. Jeff J.

    Thank you for the Pogues review and video. What a life, travel from city to city, drink every day, smoke on stage, sing and shout every night. That’s A lot of wear and tear. I wish I could have been there, sounded like a lot of fun. I was listening to to them Sunday afternoon on youtube and celebrating St. Patrick’s Day early.

Leave a Reply

