World’s easiest chocolate cake

I have made two of these in two days. It’s the only cake I know of that can be ready to go in under an hour from the time you get the idea to make it.

Allison got icing and flowers. The flowers disguised the fact that it looked like a kid's mud pie.

Allison got icing and sasanqua. The flowers disguised the fact that it looked like a kid's mud pie.

Tom's had M&Ms: triple chocolate. I forgot to take a pic.

Tom's had M&Ms and icing just on top: triple chocolate. I forgot to take a pic.

This was a recipe Audrey brought me in about 2001 out of the NYTimes magazine. Usually those are pretty intimidating, but this one uses pantry staples and messes up fewer bowls than most cakes. I have probably made it 50 times. It is just great (maybe better) with no icing at all.

Here’s the recipe (PDF)>

3 Comments

Filed under Food, in the bubble

3 responses to “World’s easiest chocolate cake

  1. FriedaB

    Look at all your little swirlydoodles! You rival Martha!

  2. Mary Wallace

    That last one you made was the very best yet. I am not a big fan of icing as you know, but that was the crowning touch. I wouldn’t want to be left alone in the room with a whole one. I would probably be dead in an hour.

Leave a Reply

