Absolute certainty brooks no fact

Politics as religion. Relativism v. fanaticism.  The end of civility.

Not watching TV, I miss most of this. I read about some of the crazy stuff that happens but isolate myself from the real violence of it. The way that race has fueled a smolder into a raging fire has surprised even me, and I tend to see race in everything.

This piece from yesterday’s LA Times articulates a different perspective on all this.

politicsasreligionLATimespoliticsasreligionopinion

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Absolute certainty brooks no fact

  1. Jennifer

    ACORN in the new black.

  2. Jennifer

    Uh, is. ACORN is the new black.

    God, I hate it when I step on my lines.

  3. Dan

    OMG! Preachers may soon start telling their congregations who to vote for………oops.

    “I’m completely in favor of the separation of Church and State. My idea is that these two institutions screw us up enough on their own, so both of them together is certain death.”
    –George Carlin

    • bday321

      Dan, did you read the article? It’s not about religion in politics, but about the wall of incivility you hit when you try to debate fact (or policy) with someone who holds their political beliefs with blind faith.

  4. Pingback: ‘The very building blocks for civility’ « in BDay’s bubble

Leave a Reply

