International date night with my mama. Without even leaving the ‘burbs.

Dinner at my all-time favorite restaurant, Mirage, then The Last Station at LeFont Sandy Springs, my favorite movie theater.

I really enjoyed The Last Station. You never hear me say this (because what do I know from acting?), but what great performances by Cpt. von Trapp, Helen Mirren, Giamatti, and especially that wonderful James McEvoy, who looks like Nick.

I knew Tolstoy was worshiped in his motherland, but I didn’t know any of this stuff about Tolstoyans, or his fabulously crazy wife. I should have, I suppose, because MW has at times been so obsessed with “the Russians” that you would think she knows them all personally. After the movie she gave me a great primer on what it left out and what happened next and where it all fits into Russian history. Hell, all I know is I wanted Anna to throw herself under that train about 200 pages sooner than the bitch did.

1 Comment

Filed under Food, in the bubble, Movies (and Tube)

One response to “International date night with my mama. Without even leaving the ‘burbs.

  1. Mary Wallace

    Well………….. Iam glad you enjoyed the movie as much as I did, but I have fallen down in my duty as a mother if I haven’t taught you to appreciate Tolstoy as a writer. Maybe the movie will inspire you to give him another chance ‘as a writer. If Anna was too long for you, try some of the short stories like “The Death of Ivan Illych” and “Master and Man” . Try reading “The Kreutzer Sonata” as an adult.

    The dinner really was a fine one. I love learning about Persian food from you.

Leave a Reply

