Guilty pleasures (It’s OK to say that I love it)

For some reason, I’m kind of embarrassed to admit that I’m obsessed with Cee Lo Green’s The Lady Killer. At first it was because some big black hip-hop dude can’t possibly be my thing, even though the smash-hit video was a total blast. Then it was because it’s so … well, it’s just so outrageously *pop.

But now I’m embarrassed because I seem to be truly obsessed. I cannot quit playing it. At work, in the car, downstairs in the kitchen, in the office here at home… I made myself go last week without it but just played the personal Cee Lo jukebox that has taken up residence in my head. Even the one cut that didn’t thrill me at first has weasled its way into my earworm repertoire. I love every single track. I can’t remember playing an album this much since Beck’s Midnight Vultures.

Tonight Warren started playing it and I just gave in. It’s OK …

Are all videos this amazing? Maybe I just don’t get out much, but this one and “Fuck You” combine music, video and graphic in a way that makes me absolutely euphoric.

From the the James Bond opener and closer to the disco pulse of Bright Lights Bigger City to the soulful pop of the rest of it, it’s all very retro. “Old Fashioned” takes us all the way back to the 50s.  But something about this love letter to a different musical era makes me stop short of labeling it postmodern. The man is clearly a master of the form, but the music seems too genuine to snicker at.

Motown-era soul. Orchestral accompaniment. Backup doo-wops.  That voice. I could continue to count the ways I love thees album. But that would be repetitive and redundant. If you don’t already own it, buy the whole wonderful thing for just $5 from Amazon. You won’t regret it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Tunes

Leave a Reply

