Sarah

Sarah Katherine Day died on September 6, 2011. She was 52.

Sarah was born on May 3, 1959, in Arlington, Virginia, the first child of Mary Wallace Tompkins Day and Pierce Butler Day III. She was named for family from Edgefield, S.C., her parents’ home town. She grew up in Cobb County, Georgia, attending Sprayberry High School and Kennesaw College. She later lived in Colorado, Woods Hole, Mass., Atlanta and Dahlonega and had been a resident of Jasper, Georgia, for 12 years.

It was to Jasper, in Salacoa Highlands, that she moved a house down the side of a mountain when everyone said it couldn’t be done. There she made her gardens and her home just the way she wanted them.

Most recently employed by the Funk Heritage Center at Reinhardt College, Sarah was an accomplished calligrapher and gardener. During her lifetime, she worked as graphic artist, bartender, gift shop manager and retail store owner.

Sarah is survived by her mother, Mary Wallace Tompkins Day, father Pierce Day, stepmother Carole Boyer Day, aunt Elizabeth Tompkins, brother Butler Day, sister Beth Day, nephews Tom and Warren Lawson, brother-in-law Dan Lawson and countless friends.

In lieu of flowers, the family suggests donations to Hospice Advantage, 583 Highland Crossing #210, Ellijay, GA 30539 (706) 635-1060.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Sarah

  1. kim

    I wanted to tell you that I am so sorry for your loss. I don’t know you not did I know Sarah, but from what I read she seemed pretty cool. I don’t know if I am overstepping any boundaries by reaching out to you. If I am I’m sorry. I first read about Sarah when I started researching her old house. Then I read that she had it moved down a mountain. I am trying to read more about her and her house, but have not found a whole lot of information online. I am into art just like she was and have become intrigued.
    Thanks, Kim
    Kim@theballgroundartgallery.com

Leave a Reply

